Why does the Bible need 66 books? Part 2

As I think back to my initial understanding of the Christian faith, I see a few places where I did not grasp the magnificence of God’s plan completely: 

Salvation is not primarily about Jesus alone.  The following verse demonstrates that all three of the Triune God are involved in our salvation, 

‘How much more, then, will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered Himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death, so that we may serve the living God.’  Hebrews 9:14

It is pretty amazing to see the different functions of the Triune God on behalf of mankind, in one verse.  It shows there is order in the Godhead.  God the Father is, as I understand it, the CEO.  Jesus Himself said, 

‘…I have come to do your will, O God.’  Hebrews 10:7c

Wow, God had it all planned.  What was His main goal?  He gave the New Covenant through Jesus so that, 

‘I will be their God and they will be My people.’  Hebrews 8:10c

To accomplish it, Jesus obeyed God, 

‘In bringing many sons to glory, it was fitting that God, for whom and through whom everything exists, should make the Author of their [our] salvation perfect through suffering.’  Hebrews 2:10

I learned that I and all God’s followers can say: 

  • We adore Jesus, who endured the Cross (for us). 
  • We adore the Father, who planned salvation (for us).
  • We are blessed to have the Holy Spirit, who teaches us about it all.  

So that we can be children of the Most High. 

Author: Gerard and Alida

As you can see in the photo, there are two of us. We live and work together 24/7, studying and enjoying our grandchildren. Our passion is to know and understand what will happen after death. Is there a way to provide for and invest in that?

Leave a comment