Why I like Father’s Day

Today was Father’s day. Hopefully many fathers enjoyed it. Way back when my father was alive, Our Father who caresthere was not a special day every year to thank the fathers. In any case I doubt whether my father would have enjoyed such a day. He probably would not have had much support from his children.

 

My parents were in a cold marriage for 28 years. So my father was incapable to be a warm loving father to his four boys (a sister was born 10 years after my twin brothers). What do I remember about my father? Not much, because he has been dead for many years. I got no love, attention or interest from my father (except that I was a worker on his farm). In addition it felt as if he didn’t particularly like me (I was a bit sickly in the beginning).

 

What happened to me when I grew up? I got married and had four children of my own. They also have some complaints about their father. Yet why do I enjoy Father’s Day so much? For starters, the day did come that I forgave my father and we made peace. We became friends and that was wonderful.

 

After my earthly father’s death, it was a great consolation that his memory  was increasingly replaced by another Father. This one is completely different. He is the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ and also the glorious Father of those who belong to Jesus.

 

My Father knows my name, takes a sincere interest in me and gave me the Holy Spirit to teach me more about Him. He thinks I am worthy to be called His son and He helped me to develop the talents He gave me. With my new Father I became somebody. I was raised with a self image that a very strong microscope might barely detect. It is so wonderful that I am no longer just an oxygen thief (as my three brothers and I used to joke), but that God planned my existence here on earth.

 

He planned a wonderful wife for me, plus the four kids (now married, so they are eight) and eleven grandchildren. Not only that, He cared enough to tell me to get out of our business and learn more about who and what He is and how wonderful He is. That was the biggest and most exciting journey my wife and I have undertaken. We wouldn’t exchange it for a billion dollars.

 

To have a Father who cares and who plans a massive inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade,  who knows you by name among billions, whose special favourite you are (as are all His children) is quite something. Isn’t it the real reason to enjoy Father’s Day to tell Him how much we enjoy and love Him? Glory!

 

Author: Gerard and Alida

As you can see in the photo, there are two of us. We live and work together 24/7, studying and enjoying our grandchildren. Our passion is to know and understand what will happen after death. Is there a way to provide for and invest in that?

Leave a Reply

